Brief History of The Stratford Perth Museum
Although the Stratford Perth Museum was incorporated as a not-for-profit in 1997, the museum’s collection dates back to the beginning of the 20th century when the Library Act of 1902 permitted local libraries to collect and display museum collections. The collection has continued to grow over the years and has been housed and exhibited in a number of homes which include Fryfogel Tavern, a factory on King Street in Stratford and the Stratford Normal School, adjacent to the Festival Theatre. In 2008, having outgrown the Stratford Normal School, the Stratford Perth Museum Association purchased its present 7 acres on the old Huron Road. The site is complemented by an 1870 Victorian buff brick home, woodlots and trails – a home with room to grow and endless potential to interpret our rich cultural heritage and to deliver indoor and outdoor programming. For more details on our property and features click here.